It’s Worth the Extra Look

A small part of me feels that I should be posting a fabulous recipe for homemade pizza dough, but the reality is…I have never made my own dough. Don’t get me wrong- I want to, and I certainly plan on it.  Just hasn’t happened yet. And here is bit more reality: when I walk in the door at 7:00pm after being on the go from 7:00am, I am just proud that we are making pizza topped with fresh ingredients and not speed dialing delivery.

However, not all store bought dough is equal. Not even close. Flip over the package and find out what’s inside. It is worth the extra look. Don’t worry- I am not proposing some hyper-analytical nutritional review. Just briefly imagine making homemade dough. If the packaged product has ingredients belonging in pizza dough, buy it! If not, immediately return to the store case and walk away.

Pizza Crust Comparison

Pillsbury Artisan Pizza Crust with Whole Grain

This package is splattered with reminders about the awesomeness of whole grains and how wonderful this product is because of said whole grains. Seems like a slam dunk, no? It’s worth the extra look.

In case you can’t see the 25 Ingredients:

Whole Wheat Flour Bleached, Enriched Flour Bleached (Wheat Flour, Niacin, Ferrous Sulfate, Thiamin Mononitrate, Riboflavin, Folic Acid), Water, Soybean Oil, Vital Wheat Gluten. Contains 2% Or Less Of Dextrose, Sugar, Leavening (Glucono Delta-Lactone, Baking Soda), Salt, Partially Hydrogenated Cottonseed Oil, Natural And Artificial Flavor, Mono And Diglycerides, Xanthan Gum, Yeast, Autolyzed Yeast Extract, Azodicarbonamide (Dough Conditioner).

 25 ingredients…For Dough? And why is the whole wheat flour bleached?

Brooklyn Pizza Dough- 100% Whole Wheat
I found this dough at Central Market, but I have heard they sell it at Harris Teeter and Safeway Select and probably many other stores.

Image

Ingredients:
Whole Wheat Flour, Wheat Protein, Water, Olive and Soy Oil, Sugar, Salt, Yeast, and Absorbic Acid

Less than 10 ingredients, and I can pronounce them all! This dough also has a really wonderful flavor. Truthfully, the ingredients plus the taste make me content to continue outsourcing my dough needs.

Delicious Recipe for Sweet Potato Kale Pizza from Pixelated Crumb
Modifications: Use fresh oregano. Pizza always needs fresh oregano.

One thought on “It’s Worth the Extra Look

Leave a Reply

